30 Day Book Challenge | Day 4 | Worst Film Adaptation Of A Book – Beautiful Creatures directed by Richard LaGravenese

Beautiful_Creatures_One,4D_low_res

 

I was so disappointed in this film. I love the book series by Margaret Stohl and Kami Garcia and am getting into the follow up series ‘Dangerous creatures’, but this film, it could have been so much more than it was.

I can let go little things that were wrong, like Lena not having black hair and Ethan not playing basket ball but there were a lot of major points missed out or completely changed. Ridley not having blonde hair with a pink streak doesn’t seem like an issue, but when such a big deal is made of it in the book and then it’s not in the film, I found it kind of distracting. Granted, Ridley is still bad-ass, but where is her red lollipop? I think, in the film, I saw it for maybe a few seconds but in the book, she is almost never without it. It’s how she uses her siren powers so why completely ignore that?

Introducing Sarafine so early on was wrong too, in my opinion. We didn’t get to see too much of Mrs Lincoln being as crazy as she was in the book before she was revealed to be Lena’s mother in disguise. Emma Thompson played Mrs Lincoln/Sarafine well though, if a little OTT.

The main thing that left me really cheesed off with this film (ok I lied, this isn’t the main thing, but it’s pretty high up there) was how they just squashed Amma and Marion into one person when they’re both actually pretty important characters in the book. Where was Amma’s baking, crosswords and little spells of protection? They could have really portrayed Amma well but fell short by a county mile. Marion was used in the book as a link to Ethan’s mother as she was always in the library, but we lost all of that.

One thing I will give props to the creators of this film for is the genius casting of Jeremy Irons as Macon Ravenwood. He was just perfect as Macon.

The events of Lena’s birthday don’t follow the same pattern in the film, as we see Macon (disguised as Ethan in the film) die in completely different ways. I prefer how the book deals with it.

I did love how the window scene in the school worked out. It set up Lena’s volatile nature well. The best scene in the film however, is the confrontation between Lena and Ridley at the dining room table. It was exactly how I imagined it when reading the book.

Right, this is the real main thing that annoyed me about this film. THE ENDING!!! There’s not a lot I can say without giving it away so I’m just going to say this. Richard Lagrevenese…..what the hell?!?!!

If you haven’t read the books then this is a great film. If you have, prepare to be frustrated.

 

Leave a Reply

