30 Day Book Challenge | Day 21 | Favourite Book From Your Childhood – Faraway Tree Stories by Enid Blyton.

faraway

 

 

Today’s book challenge post is probably the easiest one so far. Faraway Tree Stories always has and I believe always will be my absolute favourite book. Not just my favourite children’s book, but top all time book. My love of this book began when my Nanna used to read it to me when I was a small child and as I grew old enough to read it myself I read it over and over again. This book holds a very special place in my heart. It reminds me of the bond between my Nan and myself and even looking at the cover brings back fond memories.

Faraway Tree Stories is about 3 children – Jo, Bessie and Fanny – who move to a cottage close to a forest, in which, is the Faraway Tree. The Faraway Tree is a gigantic tree, so large that it’s trunk is inhabited with various creatures, Saucepan Man, Moonface and Dame Washalot (who always throws her dirty water down the tree, sometimes soaking people) being some of them. There is also a slide in the trunk (awesome right?) called the slippery slip to allow you to descend the tree quickly.

Right at the top of the tree, in the clouds, there are ever-changing  magical lands to explore. The lands can either be pleasant – eg. the Land of Goodies or the Land of Birthdays – or not so nice – eg. the Land of Dame Slap (an aggressive school teacher who, as her name suggests, slaps her pupils). The children must exit the land at the top of the tree before it changes or they will be stuck there until the next time it is that land’s turn to be at the tree.

I could talk forever about the Faraway Tree and not be bored but at the same time, I find it hard to put into words just how much I do love these stories and how special they are to me. Please read them (yes, even if you are all grown up 😉 ) because they will transport you back to your childhood and a time when anything was possible.

4 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge | Day 21 | Favourite Book From Your Childhood – Faraway Tree Stories by Enid Blyton.

  1. This is absolutely my favourite childhood book too. I just loved Mr Saucepan Man. I have been holding off re reading it, incase it isn’t as good as I remember. I think I should indulge myself again though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

