30 Day Book Challenge | Day 23 | A Book You’ve Wanted To Read For A Long Time, But Still Haven’t – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

hunger

 

 

Yes, I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve not yet fully read this book. “What? How can you possibly call yourself a true dystopian fan if you haven’t read this?” I hear you ask. Well, I have the book. I’ve looked at it a many times. I’ve even attempted to read it once or twice but I simply cannot get into it. I’ve seen the film and it’s awesome so I desperately want to be able to enjoy the book. I did find Katniss in the film to be hard to relate to. That’s no slight on Jennifer Lawrence, she did an amazing job. Although Katniss is no-doubt a kick-ass protagonist, I just don’t find her very likable. Maybe this is why I cannot force myself to get into the book. I find myself not caring about her fate. Other Characters like Rue, Peeta and Gale, I love, but Katniss….the only word I can think of to express my feelings towards her is ‘meh’.

I’ve seen reviews where people say that HG isn’t written very well. Not terribly, just not great either. Apparently the dialogue and Katniss’s inner monologue is disappointing. This puts me off even more. I can’t handle books like that. I found the whole love-triangle thing in the film to be frustrating too! How she ends up just using Peeta, knowing he has true feelings for her.

Equally, I’ve read reviews that laud HG as the most fantastic piece of literature since somebody wrote a book about sliced bread! Now, I love dystopian. Like, love it. The ‘Divergent’ series and ‘The Testing’ trilogy really captivated me from cover to cover. They drew me in. I was in Dauntless HQ with Tris and I was actually riding that bike through the wasteland with Cia. In the HG film, I wasn’t fighting with Katniss, so I worry that I will have the same problem in the book. I want to like Katniss, really I do, but she makes it so…..damned…..difficult!

I hate that I feel like I have to be convinced to read this book . That isn’t how you should go into a book. You should be drawn in by the cover, the plot, the blurb…..everything. That said, I’m asking anyone who reads this post, who has also read HG to please tell me what you think, good or bad.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge | Day 23 | A Book You’ve Wanted To Read For A Long Time, But Still Haven’t – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

  1. I loved the Hunger Games, though I did read them way before all the hype started. I definitely do think they’re worth a try, but if you can’t get into them, then no big deal! You should actually try reading Battle Royale…it’s just like HG (Suzanne Collins was actually initially sued for plagiarism because of the similarities), but was published in the 1980s and is way more intense. I actually liked it better than HG, so if you find yourself unable to continue with them but want to read something sort of like it, totally check out Battle Royale!

    Like

  2. I understand what you’re going through! I started the Hunger Games RIGHT before they started getting popular. My friend recommended I read them and I couldn’t get into it at first. I’m not sure how far in you are (from the times you’ve attempted to read it), but it took me quite a few chapters to really enjoy it. Katniss definitely frustrated me at times, when she was toying with Peeta primarily, but I tried to move past it. Overall, the books are really entertaining and have such a cook concept. I think the first book starts to really get good when she heads to arena for the games, and the following two books are even better !

    Like

Leave a Reply

