30 Day Book Challenge | Day 25 | The Last 5 Books I Bought.

 

 

Buying any books at the moment is something I shouldn’t be doing because I have about 14 ARC’s I need to read and review ASAP. If you’re anything like me though, you can’t resist when you go into a shop and see books. My local supermarket usually has a ‘2 paperbacks for £7’ deal too which, I mean, come on, who could resist that right? So, the long and the short of it is, I shouldn’t be buying books but shhh *whispers* I still have been. Don’t tell. Here are the last 5 books that just fell into my shopping basket by accident…*cough*

the girl with all the gifts

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class.

When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite. But they don’t laugh.

Melanie is a very special girl.

I’ll admit that I knew next to nothing about this book when I bought it other than what is said in the blurb. I like thrillers and horrors and mysteries so I guess that I was kind of drawn in by the whole ‘Melanie is a very special girl’ line. Special how? What does she do? Is she bad? Why do they need a gun? Why is she in a cell? How old is she? When I shared this purchase on Twitter, a few people tweeted that they were wanting to read this book too and the reviews on Goodreads look pretty great so I really can’t wait to get my teeth into this one.

 

silver linings playbook

During the years he spends in a neural health facility, Pat Peoples formulates a theory about silver linings: he believes his life is a movie produced by God, his mission is to become physically fit and emotionally supportive, and his happy ending will be the return of his estranged wife, Nikki. When Pat goes to live with his parents, everything seems changed: no one will talk to him about Nikki; his old friends are saddled with families; the Philadelphia Eagles keep losing, making his father moody; and his new therapist seems to be recommending adultery as a form of therapy.When Pat meets the tragically widowed and clinically depressed Tiffany, she offers to act as a liaison between him and his wife, if only he will give up watching football, agree to perform in this year’s Dance Away Depression competition, and promise not to tell anyone about their “contract.” All the while, Pat keeps searching for his silver lining.

Again, this is a book I know very little of. I see it has a rating of 4.02 on Goodreads and lots of people are raving about it. Also, I have not yet seen the film which I think is a good thing when you intend to read the book. I have a feeling from the blurb that I’m going to love this one.

 

plk

After killer Shelia Eddy pleaded guilty to first degree murder and was sentenced to life in prison and Rachel Shoaf was sentenced to thirty years for second-degree murder, family, friends, investigators, and other key sources reveal the facts you would have learned if the case had gone to trial.

Including specific details drawn from Rachel’s confession, Pretty Little Killers looks at the crime through the eyes of the victim and killers, providing intimate testimony from the pages of Rachel’s personal journal, Skylar’s diary and school papers, and court records.

Berry and Fuller examine all this, including previously unreported details about Rachel and Shelia’s rumored lesbian relationship and explain why more than one investigator believes Skylar’s murder was a thrill kill.

Most important, Pretty Little Killers provides a satisfying answer to Skylar’s final question: “Why?”

I don’t read many non-fiction books bar a few biographies (mainly comedians) but I’m a fan of a page on Facebook about serial killers and that page posted a small article on this murder. I was intrigued and immediately went to Wikipedia to read all about it. It’s a horrifying case and I am very interested in psychology (I studied it at college) so I’m hoping this book gives us an insight into the two girls minds and tells how they went from normal teenage girls to killers in one night.

 

gift to remember

Discover the magic of Melissa Hill this Christmas… Darcy Archer works in a small bookstore on Manhattan’s Upper West Side. A dreamer who secretly wishes for true love similar to that in her beloved novels, Darcy refuses to settle for anything less than being swept off her feet by the perfect man.

One day, when cycling to work, Darcy accidentally crashes into a sharply dressed man walking his dog. He is knocked unconscious and rushed to the hospital, but his dog gets left behind. Wracked with guilt over the accident, Darcy resolves to care for the dog and reunite him with his owner. But the dog is not the only thing that’s been left behind and when she finds a small beautifully wrapped package – suspiciously shaped like a book – she becomes curious. She decides to try and figure out all she can about this man, and make the delivery herself. Darcy gradually becomes drawn into his life; one that she soon discovers is filled with books, travel, adventure and all the wonderful things she’s ever dreamed about. It doesn’t take long before Darcy builds up a picture of this man’s lovely life, and feeling an immediate kinship towards him, tries to make things right.

It might be a challenge but doesn’t she owe it to him to try? But does fantasy match reality? And what happens when he finally wakes up?

Honestly I have nothing to say about this book other than the plot reminds me of the film ‘While You Were Sleeping’ and I love that film so, um, yeah, that’s pretty much why I bought it! I’m not a huge chick-lit reader but I’m definitely willing to give it a chance because of the whole Peter Gallagher/Sandra Bullock/Bill Pullman feels.

 

worry too much

An interactive self-help book designed to guide 6?12 year olds and their parents through the techniques most often used in the treatment of generalized anxiety. Metaphors and humorous illustrations make difficult concepts easy to understand, while prompts to draw and write help children to master new skills related to reducing anxiety. Engaging, encouraging, and easy to follow, this book educates, motivates, and empowers children to work towards change. Includes a note to parents by psychologist and author Dawn Huebner, Ph.D.

This book was bought for my 9 year old daughter, Lydia. She is very much the same as I was when I was a child (and still am now to be honest) in that she frets over every single tiny thing that may seem insignificant to anyone else. This worries me so much because I know how awful that felt as a child and I also know the damage it can do if you leave it all bottled up. I dread her growing up to be like me with a myriad of mental health problems and being sent to countless different psychiatric units so I’m willing to try anything to hopefully ensure that doesn’t happen.

 

So, these are the 5 most recent book purchases I have made. Well, technically one was for my daughter but I still bought it so it counts right? 😀 What were the last 5 books you bought?

 

 

2 thoughts on “30 Day Book Challenge | Day 25 | The Last 5 Books I Bought.

Leave a Reply

